6.1 Chanakya Niti

श्रुत्वा धर्मं विजानाति श्रुत्वा त्यजति दुर्मतिम् ।
श्रुत्वा ज्ञानमवाप्नोति श्रुत्वा मोक्षमवाप्नुयात् ॥६.१॥

śrutvā dharmaṃ vijānāti śrutvā tyajati durmatim |
śrutvā jñānamavāpnoti śrutvā mokṣamavāpnuyāt ||6.1||

by Shruti, righteousness is understood; by Shruti, evil thoughts are discarded; by Shruti, knowledge is acquired; by Shruti, liberation from human bondage is attained

[Shruti is what is directly perceived. It is a direct perception by one or more of the numerous senses of the human body, of which the main nine ones are the senses of vision (sight), audition (hearing), gustation (taste), olfaction (smell), tactition (touch), thermoception (heat, cold), nociception (pain), equilibrioception (balance, gravity), and proprioception (body awareness). An example of Shruti is the Veda. Shruti gives birth to Smriti.

Smriti is what is indirectly perceived. It is an indirect perception produced by awakening the memory of the earlier experienced direct perception (Shruti). Thus, all Smriti have their roots in Shruti. An example of Smriti are all other religious scriptures. The verse implies that Shruti (Veda) is more important than Smriti (other religious scriptures.]

Excerpt from the book “Old Chanakya Strategy: Aphorisms” by Rajen Jani

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.